Hungarian proverbs #29

Nem egyszer, nem százszor.

Translation::: Not once, not a hundred times.
Meaning::: A lot of times. / I cannot tell how many times.

[e.g.: Megmondtam már neked, nem egyszer, nem százszor, hogy ne menj oda mégegyszer, de te nem hallgattál rám. – I have already told you a lot of times not to go there, but you didn’t listen to me.]

°

egyszer – once
egy – one
százszor – a hundred times
száz – hundred

mondani – to say; to tell
már – yet; already
hogy – that; so; so that
menni
1) to go
2) to work; to function
[e.g.: Nem megy a tévé. – The TV is not working.]

mégegyszer – again; once again
még egyszer – one more time again(, but never after)
még – still; yet; even

hallgatni – to listen to someone/something
rám – on me; of me; me; to me

Leave a Reply

